Rainy Day Baby Quilt

So I finished up another Pattern Jam quilt.  I love Pattern Jam, I mean LOVE!  They still have the fun design your own quilt options and it calculates the fabric needed but they also have these amazing designs that you can put all your own personal touches on.  This is what I did with this cute rain cloud quilt.  They originally had it designed with different colors but I wanted it to be simple and have a light background.

Once I got the printed quilt top, I searched for the perfect fabric for the back.  I wanted to do a minky not just because it’s soft and cuddly, but it would make it a thicker heavier blanket that can grow with the baby.  I envision some toddler snuggling up with this in their “big” kid bed and feeling safe because the extra weight of the minky and the batting I decided it also needed.  I have this for sale in my Etsy store if anyone is interested.

I didn’t do much quilting because I really wanted to leave the texture of the clouds on the back of the quilt and I am also not very good at quilting with minky yet (it’s thicker than most fabrics and doesn’t like to cooperate).  So outlining the cloud and raindrops seemed simple enough and let the quilt be extra fluffy.

2 thoughts on “Rainy Day Baby Quilt

  1. Really think this is great. These quilts look like they have stuffed parts or are they thicker material? Very sophisticated looking. And they look like they are time consuming. Great projects.

    • With pattern jam quilt tops it just means that I do the quilting and I’m done. This one took me about 2 hours total. And it does have batting inside to make it look thicker where I have outline the cloud and rain drops.

Leave a comment